Alive

Finding myself

in the mirror

looking awake, looking alive

 

After all those years

after all those sleepless nights

when I swore

I would never see the sunrise

 

The vibrations of life

from my toes, moving like electricity

to my fingers, to my neck, tickling my cheeks

 

I am alive

I breathe

 

my fears never came into being

and all the heartfelt wishes did

all the tears dried away

and all the things that I found myself lacking

were given to me

one after another

 

In the mirror

finally

I see a human being

 

 

Leave a Reply

